2017-2018 District and RI Awards Program
None of us do what we do to win awards, but it's really nice to get our efforts recognized every once in a while.
This page is under construction.  The information below is from the 2016-2017 program.  The 2017-2018 District Awards Chair is Skip Lawrence.  You may contact Skip at (916) 812-3235 or skiplawrence@sbcglobal.net.
The 2016-17 District 5180 Awards Program is designed to inspire, encourage and recognize the accomplishments of Rotary Clubs and individuals during the 2016-17 Rotary year.
Follow the links to the left to find out more about the following awards:
● Rotary International Presidential Citation
● District 5180 Governor’s Citation and Citation with Distinction
● District 5180 Club of Excellence
● Visiting Rotarian of the Year Award
● Visiting Club of the Year Award
Your Club’s qualification for the Presidential Citation will be automatically determined by Rotary International after June 30, 2017, and is dependent on information from RI
databases, mainly membership and Foundation giving, and information that you enter at Rotary Club Central. Use the 4-Way Test when entering this data.
For your Club to earn the Governor’s Citation each of the required achievements must be completed and submitted by April 15,, 2017 unless otherwise noted. Please, keep in mind
some requirements must be completed soon after PETS. There are additional achievements of note which will be the basis for earning the Governor’s Citation with Distinction.
The District 5180 Rotarian of the Year and Rookie of the Year will be selected using nominations received from the Clubs. The Visiting Rotarian of the Year will be determined by the number of different Clubs visited (excluding the Rotarian’s own Club) documented on the Visiting Rotarian Travel Card available on the District website; the District Governor, Assistant Governors and District staff are not eligible for this award. There may be additional Club and individual awards whose requirements and applications criteria will be distributed at the Presidents’ quarterly meeting if necessary.
There are 26 required elements to earn the District 5180 Governor’s Citation. Clubs that complete at least 80% (45) of the 56 additional elements are eligible for the District 5180
Governor’s Citation with Distinction. What is written in the comments sections and other optional sections, input from the Assistant Governors, and the total number of elements completed will be used to determine the outstanding club in each size category and the Club of the Year. Regardless of Citation eligibility, all Clubs are expected to complete and return the award declaration by the deadline.
It is expected that the 4-Way Test will be followed when completing the Rotary International and District Club Awards application. Your Assistant Governor must verify and sign the district application before submission. The Awards Committee consists of District Governor Barbara Tracy, District Governor- Elect Sandi Sava, the nine Assistant Governors and District Awards Chair Bill Tobin.
Club Size Categories
For the 2016-17 Rotary year, a Small Club has 25 or fewer members; a Medium Club between 26 and 59 members; and a large Club 60 or more members. Membership reported to Rotary International on July 1, 2016 will determine Club size.
Due Dates
Be aware that the Presidential Citation and the Club Awards application have different due dates. The Presidential Citation is due June, 30 2017, and the Club Awards application is due by 5:00 pm on April 15, 2017.
The Club Awards application must be signed by the Club President and the Assistant Governor. Be sure to keep a copy. This document can be scanned and emailed, hand delivered, or mailed. If mailed be sure it is early to arrive on or before the due date and time.
The document must be received by the date and time specified below:
2016-2017 Club Awards applications go to Bill Tobin by 5:00 p.m. on April 15, 2017
• Email: shelterboxbill@gmail.com
• Mailing Address: 2724 Musgrave Place, El Dorado Hills CA 95762
Questions may be directed to Awards Chair Bill Tobin or District Governor Barbara Tracy.